February 24, 2011

The “Good Hair” Smoothie: An Enriched Smoothie For Healthy Hair…Skin Too!!!

Posted in Health & Fitness at 12:25 PM by KeAndri

I’ve been on a journey to healthy hair and skin for awhile now. I went natural with my hair 3 years ago and locked my hair in Sisterlocks 2 1/2 years ago. Ever since then, I’ve been making sure I keep my hair as healthy as possible.

Let me not forget to mention the emphasis I’ve placed on keeping my skin healthy also. I’m currently finishing up certification to become a Certified Clinical Aromatherapist. I’ve learned a tremendous amount of information about proper care of the skin.

Today, I prepared what I will call a “Good Hair” Smoothie…LOL. The smoothie consisted of fresh looseleaf lettuce, spinach, carrots, cucumber, banana, and almond milk. It was YUMMY and will be good for my hair and skin!!!

Drinking juice or a smoothie composed of carrot, lettuce and spinach will nourish the roots and nerves of hair thereby stimulating growth. It will also aid in preventing hair loss. Cucumber juice is beneficial for both skin and hair. The cucumber is high in silica which is a mineral that strengthens connective tissue, and is good for tendons, muscles, cartilage, bones, and ligaments. It is reported that silica is also good for skin elasticity, fingernails, complexion, and hair loss.

The “Good Hair” Smoothie

1/2 cup unsweetened non-dairy beverage, such as almond, rice, or soy

1 cup of fresh spinach leaves

1 cup fresh lettuce

2 medium carrots

1 banana (ripe)

1/2 large cucumber (with skin)

 

Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

 

Incorporate this smoothie into your daily diet (at least 16 ounces) and you will start to see a difference in your hair and skin. Believe it or not…what you eat affects your hair and skin! Be sure to come back and share your experience with me!!!

 

 

2 Comments »

  1. I’ve been tossing around the idea of diving into the smoothie/juicing world…Your post has inspired me!!

  2. yum yum


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

